Welcome to the mailbox.org user forum!

Improve 2FA experience & security

Dreemurr shared this idea 4 months ago
Proposed

Hello!

I'm fairly new to mailbox.org and I really want to love it. However I believe that current implementation of incredibly important features such as 2FA is incredibly lacking and may actually harm security instead of improving it.

First of all, the interface for 2FA setup is confusing. User is asked to visit help article to set it up because there are caveats and the setup is way different from 2FA implementations that users normally use, this is a first problem - as if you have to have a long explanation to turn on a security feature it will create not just confusion but also discourage users from using a security feature. The interface for setting up 2FA is implemented with iframe... Within an already existing iframe for the settings, it popping off below the initial setup box for OTP is also easy to miss. In addition to that, the logging in experience with OTP enabled is also extremely bad experience, and I see I'm not the only one who expected to first provide account password and only then provide PIN+OTP, instead of being asked for the latter as entire password.